18. mai 2018


Om utgivelsen

«Mathisen / Breistein» is an ensemble started by guitarist Svein Rikard Mathisen and saxophonist Inge Weatherhead Breistein.

The music can be described as modern melodic jazz that draws inspiration from newer American jazz to European classical modernism. The composers have clear compositional concepts in mind, when they write this music with a clear melodic and harmonic vein. The aesthetic of the sound is characterized by a strong focus on the sonic interplay between the saxophone and the guitar, which in turn affects the melodic and harmonic choices. This is combined with engaging improvisational interaction, expressive solo performances and a «groove» oriented sound in which polyrhythms are explored.

Inge W. Breistein – saxophone, Svein Rikard Mathisen – guitar, Johannes Vaht – bass, Raymond Storaunet Lavik – drums


Svein Rikard Mathisen - Guitar
Inge W. Breistein - Saxophone
Johannes Vaht - Bass
Raymond Storaunet - Drums


Fra forsiden

Oslo Jazzfestival - 16. august 2019


Du må prøve å gå rundt på Sentralen med konsertar på alle kantar – musikken går rett i fletta på deg!

Meld deg på vårt nyhetsbrev